CBP Prize 2019 shortlist

We are delighted to announce that the winner of the Contemporary British Painting Prize 2019 is Joanna Whittle and the highly commended award went to Adam Hennessey, congratulations to both painters and all the other exhibitors. Please click here for the CBP Prize 2019 catalogue

Back row L-R: Juliette Losq, Grant Scanlan. Maddie Yuille, Adam Hennessey, Joanna Whittle, Griselda Pollock, Graham Crowley, Scott McCracken, Diana Taylor, Jo McGonigal, Lisa Denyer, Geraint Evans
Front row L-R: Ruth Murray, Louise Bristow, Stephanie Douet, Kirsty Harris, Paula MacArthur, Helen Hayward, Joe Packer, Judith Tucker
Paintings in the background by Kirsty Harris, photo by Narbi Price.

The 12 shortlisted finalists for the
Contemporary British Painting Prize 2019 are:

Louise Bristow
Stephanie Douet
Kirsty Harris
Helen Hayward
Adam Hennessey
Juliette Losq
Scott McCracken
Jo McGonigal
Ruth Murray
Diana Taylor
Joanna Whittle
Maddie Yuille

The twelve shortlisted artists were selected by four painters: Lisa Denyer, Geraint Evans, Joe Packer (winner of the Contemporary British Painting Prize 2018) and Judith Tucker. Three paintings by each of the artists will be exhibited at:

Huddersfield Art Gallery, Princess Alexandra Walk, Huddersfield HD1 2SU
from 9th November 2019 – 4th January 2020, Tuesday to Saturday 11am – 4pm (admission free)

The prizewinning painting will be chosen by our three judges, Graham Crowley, Griselda Pollock and Grant Scanlan and announced on Saturday 9 November at the preview, 2pm – 4pm.

The prizewinner will receive £2000, an essay on their work by lead judge Griselda Pollock and an invitation to become a member of Contemporary British Painting as well as a selector for the CBP Prize 2020.

There will also be ‘Walk & talk’ event led by Judith Tucker on Saturday 7 December 2pm – 4pm.


We would also like to congratulation the 55 painters who were selected from a total of 746 applicants who made it through to the longlist. The longlisted artists were:

Louise Bristow, Clare Chapman, Brian Cheeswright, Deb Covell, Stephanie Douet, Rosalind Faram, Brendan Fletcher, Rebecca Fortnum, Adam Green, Lesley Halliwell, Kirsty Harris, Jeb Haward, Helen Hayward, Steven Heaton, Linda Hemmersbach, Adam Hennessey, Anna-Lise Horsley, Seungjo Jeong, Jessica Kirkpatrick, Jin Han Lee, Juliette Losq, Robyn Litchfield, Angela Lizon, Katherine Lubar, Hannah Luxton, Brendan Lyons, Selma Makela, Sophie Marritt, Gavin Maughfling, Scott McCracken, Jo McGonigal, Wendy McLean, Steve Moberly, Donal Moloney, Jim Mooney, Hannah Murgatroyd, Ruth Murray, Iain Nicholls, Roy Osborne, Greg Palmer, Sarah Poots, Magnus Quaife, Andrew Robinson, Sarah Sparkes, Geraldine Swayne, Diana Taylor, Sarah Taylor, Clare Thatcher, Anna Turner, Alex Veness, Claude Vergez, David Webb, Joanna Whittle, Maddie Yuille, Kecheng Zhu.

We would like to thank every artist who entered this year’s prize.

If unfortunately your work was not selected this year, please do not be discouraged, the judges deliberated at length and commented that they could have selected several different exhibitions from the wealth of submissions. Our social media team will be posting a selection of works chosen from all submissions as Painting of the Day across our Instagram, Twitter and Facebook pages, so watch this space!

We regret that we are unable to provide individual feedback.